Where Newly Elected Democrats Stand on Nancy Pelosi Speaker Bid

Few of the winners have explicitly said they’d vote against Pelosi on the floor

House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi takes the podium before speaking during an election watch party at the Hyatt Regency in Washington, D.C. Pelosi is seeking another bid for the speakership. (Zach Gibson/Getty Images)

Updated on Nov. 14 at 7:51 p.m. | Now that she’s helped Democrats win the House majority, Nancy Pelosi’s bid to reclaim the speaker’s gavel is officially underway. 

Several Democratic candidates expressed opposition to Pelosi or echoed general calls for new leadership during their campaigns, but only a handful had made specific pledges to oppose her during a floor vote for speaker. That number has grown since the election.

No one has announced plans to challenge Pelosi for the gavel, and many members who are looked at as future leaders have announced bids for lower level leadership positions.  

Regardless of whether she gets a challenger, Pelosi is expected to win a majority of the Democratic Caucus’ support for speaker. But she’ll need to lock down 218 votes from her own party for the floor vote.

New Members Could Spell Trouble for Pelosi’s Speaker Bid

Unless Pelosi can convince some of her critics to not participate in the speaker vote or vote “present” — which would lower the threshold she needs to reach of a majority of House members voting — she is poised to have a cushion of somewhere between 10 to 19 votes, depending on how many of the remaining uncalled races fall in her favor. 

Here are the Democratic candidates who have won their races so far and where they stand on the Pelosi question. This list does not include incumbents, a handful of whom have also said they'll vote against Pelosi for speaker on the floor.

Will vote against Pelosi on the floor

The following newly elected Democrats have specifically committed to voting against Pelosi for speaker on the floor, meaning Democrats will need to win more seats than this to offset these members’ votes. 

  1. Conor Lamb, Pennsylvania’s 17th District (already a member but won his first full term in a different district)
  2. Jason Crow, Colorado’s 6th District 
  3. Abigail Spanberger, Virginia’s 7th District 
  4. Elissa Slotkin, Michigan’s 8th District
  5. Haley Stevens, Michigan’s 11th District 
  6. Max Rose, New York’s 11th District 
  7. Joe Cunningham, South Carolina’s 1st District 
  8. Jeff Van Drew, New Jersey’s 2nd District 

Oppose Pelosi but floor position unclear

These newly elected Democrats have said they oppose Pelosi for speaker but have yet to clarify whether they would vote for her on the floor if she wins the caucus vote. 

  1. Rashida Tlaib, Michigan’s 13th District 
  2. Mikie Sherrill, New Jersey’s 11th District 
  3. Anthony Brindisi, New York’s 22nd District 
  4. Jahana Hayes, Connecticut’s 5th District  
  5. Andy Kim, New Jersey's 3rd District

Wants new leadership

Some incoming Democrats have called for new leadership without specifying an exact position on Pelosi. 

  1. Dean Phillips, Minnesota’s 3rd District
  2. Kim Schrier, Washington’s 8th District 
  3. Kendra Horn, Oklahoma’s 5th District 

Undecided or dodged Pelosi questions

Many of the incoming freshman Democrats dodged the Pelosi question during their campaigns. Some said they were undecided, while others said they’d have to wait to see who would be running for speaker. 

  1. Jesus “Chuy” Garcia, Illinois’s 4th District 
  2. Sylvia R. Garcia, Texas’ 29th District
  3. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, New York’s 14th District 
  4. Greg Stanton, Arizona’s 9th District
  5. Ilhan Omar, Minnesota’s 5th District 
  6. Lori Trahan, Massachusetts’ 3rd District 
  7. Mary Gay Scanlon, Pennsylvania’s 5th District 
  8. Chrissy Houlahan, Pennsylvania’s 6th District 
  9. Sharice Davids, Kansas’s 3rd District 
  10. Susan Wild, Pennsylvania’s 7th District 
  11. Sean Casten, Illinois’s 6th District 
  12. Antonio Delgado, New York’s 19th District 
  13. Lauren Underwood, Illinois’ 14th District 
  14. Elaine Luria, Virginia’s 2nd District 
  15. Chris Pappas, New Hampshire’s 1st District 
  16. Tom Malinowski, New Jersey’s 7th District 
  17. Abby Finkenauer, Iowa’s 1st District 
  18. Colin Allred, Texas’ 32nd District 
  19. Cindy Axne, Iowa’s 3rd District 
  20. Ed Case, Hawaii’s 1st District 
  21. Lizzie Pannill Fletcher, Texas’ 7th District 
  22. Susie Lee, Nevada’s 3rd District 
  23. Steven Horsford, Nevada’s 4th District 
  24. Xochitl Torres Small, New Mexico’s 2nd District 
  25. Lucy McBath, Georgia’s 6th District 
  26. Joe Neguse, Colorado’s 2nd District
  27. Joseph Morelle, New York’s 25th District 
  28. Harley Rouda, California’s 48th District 
  29. Josh Harder, California’s 10th District

Supports Pelosi

A few incoming Democrats have said or strongly signaled they will support Pelosi for speaker. 

  1. Deb Haaland, New Mexico’s 1st District 
  2. Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Florida’s 26th District 
  3. Ann Kirkpatrick, Arizona’s 2nd District 
  4. Mike Levin, California’s 49th District 
  5. Veronica Escobar, Texas’ 16th District 
  6. Andy Levin, Michigan’s 9th District 
  7. Angie Craig, Minnesota’s 2nd District 
  8. Donna E. Shalala, Florida’s 27th District 
  9. Madeleine Dean, Pennsylvania’s 4th District
  10. David Trone, Maryland’s 6th District 
  11. Katie Hill, California’s 25th District 
  12. Jennifer Wexton, Virginia’s 10th District 

Get breaking news alerts and more from Roll Call on your iPhone or your Android.